YWCA – How May I Help You?

On May 29th I volunteered at the YWCA front desk.  I was greeted by a nice lady named Maureen, who is in charge of fundraising.  She showed me the things needed to be done, answering the phones, letting people in the secured facility, greeting people and directing them to the correct personnel.  I watched as mother’s brought their children to the Child Development Center and the workers take the children to the onsite playground.

I decided to volunteer for this organization because their mission is near and dear to my heart.  They work to meet the needs of women in their communities.  The YWCA supports programs that include child care, rape crisis intervention, domestic violence assistance (shelters for victims and family), and career counseling.  Their national priorities are elimination of racism, affirmative action, hate crimes, violence against women, increasing women’s income, welfare reform and early childhood education.  Because the YWCA does so much to help others I decided to ask them how I may help you.

I spent three hours at the front desk and wished I could have given more of my time that day.  But for me I know this will not be the last time I volunteer here. During this election year we are seeing more and more of rights gained by women erode.  Healthcare and salary are still a major issue and struggle for women. What have you done lately to help further cause and issues for women?

Leave a Reply

